Delhi Capitals

About the team

An Indian Premier League franchise cricket team named Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils) is situated in Delhi (IPL). The GMR Group and the JSW Group both control a portion of the franchise. Arun Jaitley Stadium, formerly known as Feroz Shah Kotla, is the team’s home field and is situated in New Delhi. Ricky Ponting oversees the team’s coaching. In 2020, The Capitals faced the Mumbai Indians in their maiden IPL championship game.

History of Delhi Capitals

In 2008, Delhi Daredevils became the Delhi Capitals. In its early years, the team was coached by Greg Shipperd and was headed by Virender Sehwag. The Daredevils struggled in the first few IPL seasons despite having a great lineup on paper. Nevertheless, despite making it to the semifinals in 2008 and 2009, the squad was unable to advance farther.

The Daredevils won the league stage in 2012 but fell to the Kolkata Knight Riders in the semifinals. Throughout the following few years, the team was unable to make the playoffs. After being named the team’s captain in 2018, Gautam Gambhir quit after just six games owing to poor play. The group came in last.

In 2019 the Delhi Daredevils change their name to Delhi Capitals, and Shreyas Iyer was named the team’s captain. For the first time in seven years, the club made it to the playoffs but fell to Chennai Super Kings in the semifinals. The squad made it to the finals for the first time ever in 2020 but was defeated by Mumbai Indians.

Delhi Capitals Team Records

Indian Premier League

Year League table standing Final standing
2008 4th out of 8 Semi-finalists
2009 1st out of 8 Semi-finalists
2010 5th out of 8 League stage
2011 10th out of 10 League stage
2012 1st out of 9 Playoffs
2013 9th out of 9 League stage
2014 8th out of 8 League stage
2015 7th out of 8 League stage
2016 6th out of 8 League stage
2017 6th out of 8 League stage
2018 8th out of 8 League stage
2019 3rd out of 8 Playoffs
2020 2nd out of 8 Runners up
2021 1st out of 8 Playoffs
2022 5th out of 10 League stage

IPL 2023 Delhi Capitals Indian Players List

Name Role Price
Rishabh Pant (c) Batsman-wicket keeper INR 16 crores
Prithvi Shaw Batsman INR 7.50 crores
Axar Patel Bowler INR 9 crores
Khaleel Ahmed Bowler INR 5.25 crores
Chetan Sakariya Bowler INR 4.20 crores
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler INR 2 crores
Kamlesh Nagarkoti Bowler INR 1.20 crores
Ishant Sharma Bowler INR 50 lakhs
Vicky Ostwal Bowler INR 20 Lakh
Sarfaraz Khan Batsman INR 20 Lakh
Lalit Yadav All-rounder INR 65 Lakhs
Yash Dhull Batsman INR 50 Lakh
Pravin Dubey Bowler INR 50 lakhs
Ripal Patel Batsman INR 20 Lakh
Aman Khan (Traded) Batsman INR 20 Lakh
Manish Pandey Batsman INR 2.40 crores
Mukesh Kumar Bowler INR 5.5 crores

Delhi Capitals’ theme songs

“Play on the front foot” or “play aggressively” is the team’s anthem, which was written by Bollywood playback singer Kailash Kher.

On March 5, 2012, the Delhi Daredevils released their new song, “Munday Dilli Ke,” performed by Jaspreet Jasz and written by Arijit Datta and Micu Patel.

Sukhwinder Singh’s rendition of “Dhuandaar Dilli,” their IPL song for the 2016 season, was posted on YouTube.

They released “Dil Dilli hai, ab Dhadkega” as a new theme song in 2018.

“Roar Machaa” by Amit Trivedi served as the Delhi Capitals’ season-opening theme song for the 2019 season.The theme song hasn’t been changed from 2019.

David Warner, captain 2023

In the Indian Premier League of 2023, David Warner, the captain of the Delhi Capitals, earned his third half-century of the campaign.

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *