Mumbai Indians

About the team

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the Indian Premier League, having won five championships. They are a franchise cricket team headquartered in Mumbai, Maharashtra. The squad was established in 2008, and Reliance Industries, the largest conglomerate in India, owns 100% of its subsidiary Indiawin Sports. The team has played its home games at Mumbai’s 33,108-seat Wankhede Stadium ever since it was founded.

The Mumbai Indians were the first IPL franchise to surpass the $100 million brand value threshold in 2017. For the fourth year in a row, Mumbai Indians’ brand value is the highest of all IPL teams, expected to be about 809 crore in 2019.


Mumbai Indians defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Champions League Twenty20 final by a score of 31 runs to claim the title. In 2013, the team won the IPL title by defeating the Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the championship game. Later that year, the squad won the second Champions League Twenty20 trophy by defeating the Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs.On May 24, 2015, they defeated the Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs to win their second IPL championship, becoming them the third team to do so. They were the first team to win three IPL championships on May 21, 2017, defeating Rising Pune Supergiant by one run in an exciting championship game.

Theme song

In  Mumbai Indians theme song, team owner Nita Ambani and Sachin Tendulkar are also included. Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, and Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Mumbai Indians, are also featured in the theme song. Yeh Hai Mumbai Meri Jaan, a Bollywood Hindi song, served as the inspiration for the theme song.

Mumbai Indians  Team 2023 players list

Rohit Sharma (c) Batter 16 crore
Sandeep Warrier Bowler 20 lakh
Suryakumar Yadav Batter 8 crore
Ishan Kishan Batter 15.25 crore
Dewald Brevis Batter 3 crore
Tilak Varma Batter 1.7 crore
Jofra Archer Bowler 8 crore
Tim David All-Rounder 8.25 crore
Mohd Arshad Khan Batter 20 lakh
Ramandeep Singh Batter 20 lakh
Hrithik Shokeen All-Rounder 20 lakh
Arjun Tendulkar Bowler 30 lakh
Tristan Stubbs Batter 20 lakh
Kumar Kartikeya Bowler 20 lakh
Jason Behrendorff Bowler 75 lakh
Akash Madhwal Bowler 20 lakh
Cameron Green All-Rounder 17.5 crore

Home ground

For the first two IPL seasons, the Mumbai Indians’ home games were played at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. While the Wankhede Stadium underwent refurbishment to host group matches and the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup final, the third season’s seven home games were played at the Brabourne Stadium in 2010. In that season, the Brabourne Stadium hosted seven games, with the Mumbai Indians winning six of them.

At the moment, Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai is the home field for the Mumbai Indians. The stadium bears S. K. Wankhede’s name, a former president of the BCCI. The Mumbai Cricket Association owns the stadium, which can accommodate 33,108 spectators.


Rohit Sharma has served as the Mumbai Indians team captain for a significant amount of time. Along with winning the IPL in 2020 while serving as captain, Rohit has led Mumbai to five IPL championships overall. Under Rohit Sharma’s leadership, the Mumbai team won these five trophies.


Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *