Punjab Kings

About the team:

The Indian Premier League’s franchise cricket team, Punjab Kings (PBKS), is situated in Mohali, Punjab . Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul are the franchise’s co-owners. It was founded in 2008 under the name Kings XI Punjab (KXIP).The squad has only made one additional playoff appearance in 13 seasons, in 2014, when they finished runners-up and atop the league standings.

The Punjab Kings participated in the finals of the now-defunct Champions League Twenty20 in 2014 as the Kings XI Punjab. The team’s moniker was altered.

Trevor Bayliss succeeded Anil Kumble as the team’s head coach in September 2022. Shikhar Dhawan succeeded Mayank Agarwal as captain in November.

Name change:

Before to the 2021 Indian Premier League, Kings XI Punjab was renamed to Punjab Kings on February 17, 2021.   After 13 seasons of the IPL, Ness Wadia stated that the franchise name needed to be changed in order to “relook at things” and rebrand. He bemoaned the franchise’s “inability to win a title” and predicted that with a name change, they would “start afresh.”

Home ground:

The team plays its home matches at the PCA Stadium, Mohali. Since 2010, they also have been playing some of their home games at either Dharamsala or Indore.


To promote cricket sincerely; within the region by providing global exposure to local talent, and attracting new audiences for the sport through an innovative presentation.

Theme song:

Titled ‘Punjabi Kings’, the song recollects elements from Punjab’s earliest theme song ahead of the inaugural edition created by Daler Mehndi.

The new song is sung by popular music composer Mika and features clips of Punjab’s much-celebrated martial arts Gatka and the elegant Bhangra, Punjab’s iconic traditional dance style.

Expensive player:

Sam Curran, an English all-rounder, became the most expensive player in IPL history when the Punjab Kings (PBKS) broke the bank to buy him for a record INR 18.50 crore in the Indian Premier League 2023 mini-auction. Once the price reached INR 11 crore, Punjab Kings entered the bidding and outbid Mumbai Indians in the final round.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) Team 2023 players list:

Arshdeep Singh Bowler 4 Crore
Shikhar Dhawan (c) Batter 8.25 crore
Kagiso Rabada Bowler 9.25 crore
Matthew Short All-Rounder 20 lakhs
Shahrukh Khan All-Rounder 9 crore
Harpreet Brar Batter 3.8 crore
Prabhsimran Singh Batter/Wicket-keeper 60 lakh
Jitesh Sharma Batter/Wicket-keeper 20 lakh
Rahul Chahar Bowler 5.25 crore
Liam Livingstone All-Rounder 11.5 crore
Gurnoor Singh All-Rounder 20 lakh
Rishi Dhawan All-Rounder 55 lakh
Baltej Dhanda All-Rounder 20 lakh
Nathan Ellis Bowler 75 lakh
Atharva Taide All-Rounder 20 lakh
Bhanuka Rajapaksa Batter 50 lakh

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Unquestionably consider that that you said. Your favourite reason appeared
    to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst other people
    consider issues that they just do not recognise about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out
    the whole thing with no need side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks