Rajasthan Royals

About the team:

The Rajasthan Royals, an Indian Premier League franchise cricket side headquartered in Jaipur, Rajasthan, are frequently referred to as just “RR” (IPL).  The team is situated at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur and was established in 2008 as one of the original eight IPL franchises.

Despite not being considered a title contender by the media or the public, the squad led by Shane Warne won the inaugural IPL. Under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy, the Royals finished as runners-up in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20.

In response to a 2013 betting scandal, the Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were given a two-year suspension on July 14, 2015, and were consequently unable to compete in the IPL tournaments of 2016 and 2017. They participated in the 2018 season once more.

Home ground:

Sawai Mansingh Stadium is a home ground stadium of Rajasthan Royals Which is situated In Jaipur, Rajasthan, India. Amenities include maple wood flooring at the playing field, air conditioning, player change rooms and lounges, control and medical rooms, media centres and state-of-the-art acoustics.


Indian cricketer Sanju Viswanath Samson leads the domestic Kerala team and the Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League. He was the vice-captain of the Indian U-19 team for the 2014 Under-19 Cricket World Cup and a right-handed wicket-keeper-batter.

Theme song:

Halla Bol has been the Rajasthan Royals’ anthem since it was first used as a war cry to inspire the team.

Ban in 2015:

In 2015, the Lodha Committee investigation resulted in a two-year suspension on the team.

When fake and improper bids were made, violating BCCI rules, Rajasthan Royals became the centre of controversy.

The BCCI was fully unaware of the squad at the time, and its sole stockholders were Fraser Castellino and Ranjit Barthakur. They reached an out-of-court settlement together. Raj Kundra, the team’s owner, was permanently barred from cricket in 2015, and Rajasthan Royals was given a two-year suspension.


The team’s mascot is a lion named Moochu Singh.


  • 2008: IPL Champions.
  • 2012: IPL Fairplay Award Winner.
  • 2013: Runners-up, Champions League.
  • 2022: IPL Finalists. IPL Fairplay Award Winners. Home to the Orange & Purple Cap winners.

RR Players List of IPL 2023:

Player Name Role Auction Price
Riyan Parag All-Rounder 3.8 crore
Jason Holder All-Rounder 5.75 crore
Donovan Ferreira All-Rounder 50 lakh
Akash Vashisht All-Rounder 20 lakh
Abdul PA All-Rounder 20 lakh
Jos Buttler Batsman 10 Crore
Yashasvi Jaiswal Batsman 4 Crore
Shimron Hetmyer Batsman 8.5 crore
Devdutt Padikkal Batsman 7.75 crore
Joe Root Batsman 1 crore
Sanju Samson Batsman/Wicket-keeper 14 Crore
Dhruv Jurel Batsman/Wicket-keeper 20 lakh
R. Ashwin Bowler 5 crore
Trent Boult Bowler 8 crore
KC Cariappa Bowler 30 lakh
Sandeep Sharma Bowler 50 lakh
Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler 6.5 crore
Navdeep Saini Bowler 2.6 crore

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *