Top 5 Bowling Performance for DC in IPL History

5. Umesh Yadav’s Impressive Performance against Punjab Kings (PBKS) in 2012

Umesh Yadav, debuting for Delhi Capitals (DC) in 2010, showcased his prowess in the 2012 IPL season. During DC’s league encounter with Punjab Kings (PBKS), Yadav’s stellar performance significantly contributed to his team’s triumph.

Under the captaincy of Mahela Jayawardene, DC opted to field first after winning the toss. Yadav, exploiting Dharamsala’s conducive fast-bowling conditions, made early breakthroughs by dismissing PBKS openers Mandeep Singh and Adam Gilchrist cheaply.

Continuing his onslaught, Yadav claimed the crucial wicket of David Hussey in his third over, consolidating DC’s dominance. His remarkable figures of 3/19 restricted PBKS to a modest total of 141. Subsequently, DC comfortably chased down the target, securing a convincing six-wicket victory. This performance propelled DC to the top of the league table, underscoring Yadav’s pivotal role in their campaign.

4. Rajat Bhatia’s Match-Winning Spell Against Deccan Chargers in 2009

Rajat Bhatia showcased his prowess as a key member of the Capitals’ pace arsenal during 2008-2010. However, it was in 2009 when he delivered a standout performance in the IPL. In a clash against Deccan Chargers in Durban, Bhatia’s remarkable bowling figures of 4/15 proved instrumental in Delhi’s 12-run victory.

Initially, the Chargers seemed poised for success, needing just 25 runs off 18 balls with six wickets in hand. Bhatia’s second over changed the game’s course entirely, dismissing the formidable duo of Andrew Symonds and Dwayne Smith.

Following their dismissals, Ashish Nehra joined the onslaught by removing Venugopal Rao. Bhatia’s final over sealed the match as he clean-bowled Pragyan Ojha and Shoaib Ahmed. His stellar performance earned him the well-deserved Player of the Match award, highlighting his invaluable contribution to Delhi’s triumph.

Sl NoNameAgainstFigureYear
1Amit MishraDeccan Chargers5/172008
2Kagiso Rabada’sSunrisers Hyderabad4/292020
3Kuldeep YadavKolkata Knight Riders4/142022
4Rajat BhatiaDeccan Chargers4/142009
5Umesh YadavPunjab Kings3/192012

Also Read:

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *