Top 5 Fastest Centuries in IPL History

In tournaments like the Indian Premier League (IPL), certain batters possess the ability to swiftly alter the course of a game, leaving the opposition little time to recover. When a batter achieves a century in a T20 innings, especially at a rapid pace, it significantly boosts their team’s chances of victory by shifting the momentum.

The seventeenth edition of the IPL commenced on Friday, March 22, 2024, with defending champions Chennai Super Kings facing off against Royal Challengers Bangalore. This article delves into the fastest centuries in IPL history.

5. Adam Gilchrist’s Swift Century

In the inaugural IPL season, Adam Gilchrist’s 42-ball century for the Deccan Chargers stands out. His blistering innings helped his team chase down a target of 155 runs against the Mumbai Indians, securing a comprehensive 10-wicket victory.

4. David Miller’s Impactful Innings

David Miller’s explosive century in IPL 2013, scored in just 38 balls against Royal Challengers Bangalore, is etched in memory. His brilliant knock powered Punjab to a successful chase of 191 runs, securing victory with six wickets in hand and two overs to spare.

3. Travis Head’s Recent Entry

Travis Head joins the elite list with his century in 39 balls against Royal Challengers Bangalore. His explosive innings at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium showcased his prowess, contributing significantly to his team’s performance.

2. Yusuf Pathan’s Remarkable Feat

Yusuf Pathan tops the list among Indian players for the fastest century in IPL. In 2010, he bludgeoned a century in only 37 balls against the Mumbai Indians. Despite his valiant effort, his team, the Rajasthan Royals, fell short by just 4 runs in their pursuit of a daunting target of 213.

1. Chris Gayle’s Explosive Knock

Chris Gayle holds the record for the fastest century in IPL history. During an IPL 2013 match against the Pune Warriors, Gayle unleashed a ferocious innings, scoring 175 runs off just 66 balls. He smashed 13 fours and 17 towering sixes, reaching his century in a mere 30 balls. Gayle’s onslaught propelled Royal Challengers Bangalore to a mammoth total of 263/5, resulting in a resounding victory over Pune Warriors.

 Player Runs Balls Against Balls For Year
Chris Gayle 175* 66 PWI 30 2013
Yusuf Pathan 100 37 MI 37 2010
Travis Head 102 41 RCB 39 2024
David Miller 101* 38 RCB 38 2013
Adam Gilchrist 109* 47 MI 42 2008

Also Read:

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *