Top 5 Most Centuries in IPL History

In T20 cricket, it’s rare to see players hitting centuries due to the limited time and overs available. This trend is also evident in the IPL, the world’s most renowned T20 league. In this article, we’ll examine the performances of six players who have achieved the highest number of centuries in the tournament thus far.

5. David Warner

David Warner, who is considered as one of the most successful overseas players of the tournament, has also smacked 4 tons so far. He scored his first ton back in 2010 while playing for the Delhi team against KKR and achieved the landmark again in 2012, against the now-defunct Deccan Chargers. Later, he got his first century while playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad against KKR in 2017. In an IPL 2019 game against RCB, he along with Jonny Bairstow, got centuries in the same match.

4. KL Rahul

KL Rahul shares the third spot with two Australians, David Warner and Shane Watson, for hitting four centuries in the history of the IPL. He, being a right-handed batsman, had already scored two centuries before, and in the penultimate edition, he added two more. In the 2023 season, Rahul made 392 runs in 14 innings, averaging 28.00 with a strike rate of 139.01, and also managed to score four half-centuries.

3. Chris Gayle

The second name is well-known in T20 cricket. Chris Gayle, often considered one of the best T20 players ever, has hit a record 6 centuries in the lucrative league. His first hundred in the IPL was in 2011 against KKR at Eden Gardens, where he scored 102* off 55 balls, including 10 fours and 7 sixes. His last century in the IPL came against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018, when he scored an unbeaten 104* off 63 balls. That season, he wasn’t initially picked in the auction but was later signed by the Punjab franchise for his base price of INR 2 crore in the third round.

2. Jos Buttler

A few seasons back, England’s Jos Buttler had an outstanding performance, coming close to breaking Virat Kohli’s record of 973 runs in a single season of the top league. Buttler scored 863 runs in 17 innings with an impressive average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05. He hit 4 centuries and 4 fifties during this time. Buttler almost single-handedly led his team, Rajasthan Royals, to the final of IPL 2022, but they lost to the Gujarat Titans who dominated the game. This achievement puts Buttler in third place for scoring 6 centuries in the history of the tournament.

1. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli, the star Indian batsman, holds the record for the most centuries (8) in the league’s history. He surpassed Chris Gayle’s six centuries during a match against Gujarat Titans (GT) in IPL 2023, scoring an unbeaten 101 runs off 61 balls in Bangalore. This achievement occurred during the final round-robin game of the season. In total, Kohli has amassed 7579 runs in 242 innings at an average of 38.27, which includes 52 half-centuries.

 Player Innings Runs Average Centuries
    Virat Kohli 242 7,579 38.27 8
   Jos Buttler 100 3358 38.15 6
   Chris Gayle 142 4965 39.72 6
     KL Rahul 122 4289 46.12 4
 David Warner 181 6555 41.23 4

Also Read:

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *