WPL 2023 FAQs – How many overseas players per 11? Where are the games? Is there DRS?

Everything you need to know about the inaugural Women’s Premier League

The Women’s Premier League (WPL), India’s new T20 franchise league for women, is finally here, and cricket fans around the world are excited to see some of the best female cricketers in action. The tournament kicks off on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, with Mumbai Indians taking on Gujarat Giants. The WPL has a total of five teams, and there will be 22 matches played in total, including the final on March 26 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

In this article, we will provide you with all the information you need to know about the WPL, including the format of the tournament, the teams and their strengths and weaknesses, the players to watch out for, and the rules and regulations.

The Format of the Tournament

The WPL has a round-robin format, with the five teams playing each other twice in the league stage. This makes it eight games per team and 20 league games in total. The team that finishes on top of the league table will go straight into the final, while the teams placed second and third will battle it out in an eliminator to decide the second finalist.

All matches will be played in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai, with most games starting at 7.30 pm IST, except on double-header days, when the first match will begin at 3.30 pm, like in the IPL. The WPL has four double-headers in total.

The Teams and their Owners

The five teams in the WPL are owned by some of the biggest names in Indian cricket, including three IPL teams. Reliance has bought Mumbai Indians, the JSW and GMR group have bought Delhi Capitals, and Diageo has bought Royal Challengers Bangalore. Adani Sportsline has bought Ahmedabad-based Gujarat Giants, while Capri Global, a non-banking financial services company, has taken the Lucknow-based UP franchise, UP Warriorz (yes, that’s with a Z, not S).

The WPL has some of the best female cricketers in the world, including Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, and Beth Mooney, among others. However, there are also some unknown players who could be future superstars. We have put together a list of seven such players to watch out for.

The Rules and Regulations

The WPL has the same rule as the IPL when it comes to the number of overseas players allowed in the playing XI. Each team can have a maximum of four overseas players, except that if a team has an Associate player, she could be played as the fifth overseas player in the XI. Capitals were the only team to buy an Associate player at the auction: Tara Norris, a left-arm quick, from the USA.

Each team will have 15 to 18 members, with six overseas players each. DRS will be available in the tournament, with each team allowed a maximum of two unsuccessful reviews per inning. UltraEdge and HawkEye technologies will be available to the third umpire for edge detection and ball-tracking.

If more than two teams finish on the same number of points for any of the top three places, the team with the most wins in the league stage will be placed higher. If the wins are also the same, the team with the

Related Articles


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *